3 Mates, 3 Countries

Though, several of my papers were done in English, but I’m still not confident. I’m always consider about my grammar and the structure of my words. But, there is one principle I always hold: we will never go ahead if never try! Despite people maybe feel peculiar with my sentences, yeah I just give them my big smile. Hahaha…

So, let me please tell my story now in English, pals!

In this year, three friends of mine will fly to other countries for studying. They are Maria Elysabet Mena, Adinda Ishmer DN Koto, and Jamal Said Bakarsyum. As I told several times in recent journals, Maria will study in Arizona University, USA, for her IELSP (Indonesia-English Language Study Program) scholarship. She will be there for 8 weeks (is grammar correct? *lol*) and leave for Indonesia in June. Now, she is busy preparing her passport in Immigration Office. I remind her to not forget try all of kinds of coffee when she is in US later. Yeah, surroundings have known her as coffee-holic!!!


It’s not same with Maria.


Adinda Ishmer or I love to call her “Koto” and Jamal got Erasmus Mundus scholarship. Ishmer – yeah, she has famous for this call – will be leaving for Indonesia in the end of this month. Where does she go? Turkey, Europe! (Oh, my big appreciation to her – Maria and Jamal too, certainly). Ishmer will be there for 5 months (only?) *Oh, Fatah… 5 months are quite long! Haha* If I’m not misinformation, she will study at Sabanci University. She takes major of Cultural Studies. Yeah, I have predict it before due to my observation that she is very attracted to cultures. She’s also love literary like me too. How could I conclude that? Let me tell you! Hehehe…


First, I have seen her bring “My Name is Red” of Orhan Pamuk. Second, I have read her note title “BIRU” in friendster (oh, is it still exist now? Hahaha) and then repost it in facebook. That note is very sweet and deep-meaning. So literary! Third, she assisted me by saying “Sang Pemimpi is good! They are not understand about literary!” when my friends said that Sang Pemimpi film is so so. Hahaha.. I wanted to give her five at that time! And when I tagged her in my note about my impression to Sang Pemimpi film, it is right she didn’t give any comment, but in the evening, she sent me sms, “Tawaran buat atah: ayo ntn sang pemimpi u ktiga kalix? Mari qt mengenyam rasa bsama..ku byarin deh asl km g malu dibyarin ce;)”. Well, the transaltion is, “Offer to Atah: let’s watching Sang Pemimpi for the third? Let’s mend a feel together. I will treat you if you’re not ashamed treated by girl ;)” Then, I replied by saying that I was very touched and say “YES” for her offer! Haha…


How about Jamal? Yeah, he is until now hold the muchest (right or not?) record as friend I told in my journals. *Please, be proud of this fact, Jamal! *lol* I don’t know why. It’s perhaps because he is the nearest person around me that so inspiring by his all achievements. I confess that I have admiration to those whose lot of achievements.

Jamal itself will fly to Netherland (or Belgium?) in September. He also get Erasmus Mundus scholarship for studying International Relations for 10 months. I’m still not clear which university that he will be at. Unfortunately, Netherland has inconsiderated to accept Jamal rather than Belgium. While, actually, he prefers to be accepted in Belgium. FYI, Brussels as capital city of Belgium is also place of European Union Parliament. Even less, we have just studied Europe subject particularly and comprehensively. So, it’s the perfect time for Jamal and Ishmer to deepen their understanding about Europe.

Maybe, some of you ask my reason to write this. “Why you tell about people, not yourself? Why you willing to spend your time just for writing this? Why?”


Well, good question!


“THEY INSPIRE ME! Inspiring me to not stopping hope to catch my dream. My dream to go abroad or traveling around the world. If they can, why me not? So, I intentional write this to keep my spirit up! And as I stated above, I have a very very very big appreciation to them who successful in their own field. Now is theirs, next is… MINE! Hahaha…”


Ameeen…



P.S.: Maria, Ishmer, and Jamal… Please, share your experience during there via notes! Keep ‘burn’ us. I’ll be waiting for it. lots!!!

11 thoughts on “3 Mates, 3 Countries

  1. enkoos said: Aduh Fatah, I thought this journal is talking about you. Nice try. Keep working on your English. Practice makes perfect. Go Fatah go…

    Heheh… certainly, I need people like you whose English is no matter 🙂 Don’t you mind to be my tutor? hueheuheu…

  2. hhahaha… cap tempayan aja, piye???udah saya baca, tapi belum diperhatikan secara saksama karena tempo yang saya punya sangat singkat (tadi masih ujian) 😀

  3. Wow… I didn’t know that the three of them are leaving.. Sounds great and so happy for them..Anyway, why don’t you learn and practice more to write in English. Your writings in Indonesian are good.. And this one is in English, yeah.. few grammatical errors, but it’s also good.. Just continue doing what you love (writings, right?) and maybe (hopefully) you can get scholarship and go abroad like your friends too.. Good Luck for you, dear…

  4. lafatah said: tapi belum diperhatikan secara saksama karena tempo yang saya punya sangat singkat (tadi masih ujian) 😀

    qaqaqaq…Fatah bertransisi ke tahun 1945. Cap tempayan bunyinya terlalu elegan, secara aku rodo2 preman. Omahku cedek terminal Wonokromo soale. Huehehehehe….cap tikus ndoweh ae.

  5. iniakuchimi said: Wow… I didn’t know that the three of them are leaving.. Sounds great and so happy for them..Anyway, why don’t you learn and practice more to write in English. Your writings in Indonesian are good.. And this one is in English, yeah.. few grammatical errors, but it’s also good.. Just continue doing what you love (writings, right?) and maybe (hopefully) you can get scholarship and go abroad like your friends too.. Good Luck for you, dear…

    Amiiiin…Makasih, Mbak Cimi, atas doanya… Insya Allah, aku akan lebih sering lagi menulis dalam bahasa Inggris. Mumpung ada orang-orang seperti Mbak yang gape bahasa Inggrisnya dan bisa ngoreksiku. Hehehee…

Sila Urun Tutur

